How-to remove a client

2 minute read

Posted 2021-05-19 - Updated 2021-05-19
Supported on Linux, Aix, MacOS

Removing a SADMIN client

On this page as an example, we will delete a SADMIN client system named ‘yoda’. We will show you the basics step to remove a client and what happen behind the scene. Removing a client from SADMIN is a simple process and easy to do, so make sure you delete the right system. Prior to the system deletion a compress backup of all client information is done in an archive folder on the SADMIN server ($SADMIN/www/dat/archive).

Remove a SADMIN client with the web interface

To remove a client from the SADMIN server inventory, click on “Server” in the “CRUD Operations” ([C]reate [R]ead [U]pdate [D]elete) section at the bottom left of the page.

Remove SADMIN client

You will be directed to a page that list all your actual SADMIN clients. With this view you can “Create”, “Read”, “Update” and “Delete” client to the server database. To delete a client from
SADMIN inventory, simply press the “Delete” button located on the same line of the client you wish to delete.

Press "Delete" Button

The page below will then appear and you only need to confirm or cancel your choice. If you still want to delete the client from the database inventory, then press the “Delete” button. If you don’t want to delete this system, press the “Cancel” button.

Delete System Screen

A final confirmation will be asked, you to make sure that you really want to delete this system.

Final Delete Confirmation

Back to the top

What happen when a client is deleted

This is the directory of the server ‘yoda’ prior to the deletion of this system on the SADMIN server.

$ cd $SADMIN/www/dat/yoda
$ /opt/sadmin/www/dat/yoda $ ls -l
total 24
drwxrwxr-x 2 apache apache 4096 May 20 09:45 cfg
drwxrwxr-x 2 apache apache 4096 May 20 02:13 dr
-rw-rw-r-- 1 apache apache   20 May 20 05:06 environment
drwxrwxr-x 2 sadmin sadmin 4096 May 16 00:33 log
drwxrwxr-x 2 apache apache 4096 May 20 02:15 nmon
drwxrwxr-x 2 sadmin sadmin 4096 May 20 02:13 rch
drwxrwxr-x 2 sadmin sadmin   21 May 20 09:45 rpt

Once we press the final confirmation, a backup of the client directory on the SADMIN server is done to an archive directory ($SADMIN/www/dat/archive). If you ever need to have access to some information about that server, you can still access it. Then system directory ($SADMIN/www/dat/hostname) is deleted.

$ cd $SADMIN/www/dat/archive
/sadmin/www/dat $ ls -l yoda.tgz 
-rw-r--r-- 1 apache apache 4879879 May 20 09:56 yoda.tgz

AUTHOR

Jacques Duplessis
Any suggestions or bug report can be submitted at the support page

Copyright © 2021 Free Software Foundation, Inc. License GPLv3+: GNU GPL version 3 or later
This is free software, you are free to change and redistribute it.
There is NO WARRANTY to the extent permitted by law.

SEE ALSO

How-to Add a client - How-to add a client to SADMIN inventory